top of page

Introductions, Pt. III: My Assistants







Dear reader,


I figured it would be good for this final post in the Introductions series to be a light-hearted, easy read. And so, I have attempted to make it so.

In the previous post, I mentioned my inanimate assistants. As you may recall, I have a tendency to personify things (quite a beneficial inclination when you're a writer or artist). I've somewhat embraced it and gotten into the habit of naming some objects and giving them characters.

The majority of these objects have all been things that I frequently use in my writing sessions. And so I have dubbed these particular inanimate objects my writing assistants.


I like to reference these as characters in my posts, and so you might as well get to know them. And so, let's begin!




My oil lamp is named "Beatrix." Beatrix was found in my father's basement. Knowing that I like to collect old-world themed things, he asked me if I wanted it.

I readily said yes, cleaned up the lamp, named it (after Beatrix Potter), and now Beatrix is part of my "team."

Presently, I do not have a wick for it, but otherwise Beatrix is fully functional.


I've always imagined Beatrix to have an upright personality. A little uppity, perhaps mildly ditsy, but good mannered and natured. Definetly a more sensible character, though she perhaps thinks herself as a inherently above the other team members (after all, look at that posture).








Erwin (pronounced exactly how it's spelled, err-win) is a dear squat little fellow with a determined personality, and the only member of my "team" that I was specifically looking for.

I've been trying to grow a collection of useful antiques - old things that I like aesthetically and that I can also use.

Erwin and his little stand were exactly what I was looking for, and I snatched up the set the moment I saw it.


He takes seniority over the other inanimate assistants - partly because I use him more, and partly because he's been around the longest.









Hector was a gift from Liana. His full name is Hector Herald, because I liked both names very much and couldn't pick between them.

The "Hector" part of his name is loosely inspired by the great pirate Captain Barbosa, and "Herald" refers to "messenger," from the line "hark! the herald angel sings" (because he produces music).


Hector is a tad absent-minded and not the brightest generally speaking, but kind and well-meaning.










Marvin is actually the very first item on this list that I got. He was also a gift from Liana, and in addition to keeping careful watch over my displayed books he's also a great focal point for when I'm recording audiobooks (especially dialogue). Sometimes it helps to narrate at something as opposed to just reading off a page.


I've always imagined Marvin to have a punky teen attitude, which can make it amusing to narrate at him.








 



Well now, that's everything. I hope you enjoyed getting to know my "team." These handy little objects have helped me quite a bit in my bookish endeavors and they're fun to have around in general, so I'm glad to give them a proper introduction.


This was the last post in my "Introductions" series. The next post will be announcing my project for NoQu, so keep an eye out for that!


Have a wonderful day, reader. I'll write to you anon.


Sincerely,






bottom of page