top of page

Discussion: What I Love About Independent Fiction







It should come as no surprise to anyone that I love indie fiction. Independent authors have held a special place in my heart for many years now (the beginning of my love for them being a topic for another post that will, hopefully, come some time in January), and this past year especially I've come to find more and more reasons to appreciate them. There are some things that are abundant in indie fiction but are rare, or at least uncommon, in traditionally published books. These things have contributed to my love and appreciation for independent books.

Today, I would like to discuss some of those things, the differences between trad and indie, and in general why I love indie books. After each point, I'll list one indie book that applies to the point and one trad book.



True Heart

It has, unfortunately, become commonplace for me to be partway through a traditionally published novel and to completely lose interest in it. There's not always a specific thing that I can pin down - it's just that there's something off. Something that repels me from the book. I've often gone down the checklist in my mind, examining the plot, the characters, the prose, and still being unsure of the issue.


Finally, I think I've found it.


These stories lack heart. I'm not saying that traditional books always lack heart, but it is unfortunately common with modern books. I'm also not saying that the authors of these books weren't invested in them when writing them. But I am saying that the love and care the author did have for their book, assuming they had it, did not translate.

Though I have no experience in the publishing industry, I think this is partly due to traditional publishing requirements and edits. I do also imagine that the contracts and deals detailing that an author must write so many books can dampen the creative process as well.


Indies, however... they aren't bound to anything. Seriously, anything. There are no requirements for them, they can cut or keep whatever they like, they can write unwieldy plots and prose alike, and they're not forced to write anything. They only need do what they want to. Of course, all of this can result in poorly produced books, a fact which I don't deny, but it can also result in wonderfully creative and passion filled stories.


Nearly every indie book I have read so far as been filled with love and passion, or at the very least I can tell the author had fun with it. That the book is deeply loved by its writer.

This alone is enough to make me see the value in a book, it is enough to make me appreciate it and find it endearing - even if I don't particularly like it.



Here's a trad book that I think has true heart: The Ranger's Apprentice by John Flanagan.


Here's an indie book that I think has true heart: Azalei's Riders by Miranda Marie.



True Meaning

I used to not support the concept of writing only existing to represent an opinion or viewpoint. I believed that sometimes a story is just a story.

I can't say that I wholly agree with that belief now, but I definetly don't disagree with it either.

I don't believe that every story exists to say something. But I do believe that every story does say something, whether it was the author's intention or not. And because I believe the latter, I believe every writer should strive for the former.


Traditional work does not often do this, at least not noticeably (and if the story is not noticeably meaningful, doesn't that defeat the purpose of it having a meaning?), and when it does it often is carried out in a lifeless or generic way. The meaning or intention of the story seems more like a structural matter, another thing to check off the list, rather than a driving passion.

However it's quite the opposite with independent books. It seems almost as if the writers started with the meaning and a story unfolded from there - or perhaps that the meaning naturally bloomed within the story as the writer went.

That meaning gives the story depth and purpose. It's a byproduct of the former section I covered, and it leads into the one that I will address now.



Here's a trad book that I think has true meaning: The Way of Kings by Brandon Sanderson.


Here's an indie book that I think has true meaning: Calligraphy Guild by R.M. Archer.



True Hope

Books are very likely the most emotionally impactful thing for me, generally speaking. They have done everything from teaching and comforting me to enraging and exciting me. But the best thing a book can do, I think, is give me hope.


The only traditionally published story that I can think of that did this for me was The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins. I would love to go into more detail about that series and everything I love - as well as don't love - about it, but I will save that for another time.

There are so many layers to the hope that The Hunger Games gives. Hope in the face trials, hope in the face of defeat, poverty, war, uncertainty, fear, and so much more. I could probably write an essay on each item.

This trilogy did more than give me hope, too. It inspired me and taught me much and really has had a great impact on me overall. I first read it... Goodness, six or seven years ago, perhaps? Even so, it still comes to mind very often.


But since THG, I have yet to find a modern and traditionally published story that impacted me as thoroughly as that one did, specifically where hope is concerned. Yes, other books have made me laugh, cry, and think, but seldom - if any (for none come to mind presently) - have given me hope. And this is not for a lack of trying. Many books have come very, very close, but then fell flat right when they should have been soaring.


But independent stories? Well, I can't say that every single one of them has had a vast impact on me, but I can say that I have found hope and encouragement in nearly all of them. Why is this?

I think part of it is tied to what I went over in the "True Heart" section of this post, but I know what the main reason for it is. It is very common for independent authors to be Christian. Why that is, I'm not entierly sure, but it's true.

And thanks to that fact, these books very often contain true hope. Now please do not assume that these books are all overtly Christian - many of them don't even mention Christianity (not that it would be a con if they did). Yet the truth of forgiveness, of love, of change, of hope is woven between every line, so subtly at times that it may take a Christian to spot it, but so thoroughly that it glorifies God and reaches a hand out to the reader beautifully.

Because these writers have built their lives on the foundation of the Gospel, they can't help but radiate its truth throughout their works. And because the Gospel is true, the courage, love, and hope that the writer is trying to portray becomes real courage, real love, real hope, it creates a real impact.


And that is something that I do not see in modern traditionally published books. I don't know why there are so few mainstream Christian authors, but I do know that the reason why mainstream books are so lacking is because they lack the ultimate purpose, hope, impact, and heart - that of the Word of God.

That isn't to say that I think no traditionally published book is capable of inspiring hope or anything else - they certainly are (as seen in my mini ramble about The Hunger Games), but rather that it is far less common and, seemingly, far more difficult for them to produce such impact.

I do, however, believe that it is not possible for them to create as great an impact and inspire as mighty a hope as seen in independent books. A Godless creation simply is not capable of creating as great, or as lasting, a hope as a creation which is made with God's word as its foundation.



Here's a trad book (series) that I think has true hope: The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins (obviously).


Here's an indie book (series) that I think has true hope: Dragons' Bane by Melody Jackson.



Conclusion

There are, of course, many more reasons why I love independent books and authors.The smaller fanbase, the accessibility to the author, the boundless creativity, the visible hard work, the knowledge that the independent book I'm reading is the author's dream come true, and so much more.

But this post has to end at some point, and I feel that the three larger points I've made get down to the heart of the matter.


What has your experience been with independently and traditionally published fiction? Do you have a favorite indie book or author? Have you read any of the books I mentioned on this list? If you have any such thoughts or comments, I would love to hear from you!


Otherwise, I will write to you anon. Have a wonderful and creative day.








bottom of page